GAIN Stars of 2015 honoured at The K Club

GAIN Stars of 2015 honoured at The K Club


International Showjumper Bertram Allen has earned the title of the GAIN Star of the Year Award for the third consecutive year.The 20-year-old Wexford native flew home to Ireland to accept the award at the K Club where he was also named Irish Field Showjumper of the Year.

Currently ranked number nine in the Longines world rankings, Allen has taken the global show jumping world by storm in the past 12 months, posting win after win on the international circuit.

Among his top results for 2015 were his third place finish in the World Cup Final in Las Vegas with Molly Malone V in April and becoming the youngest rider ever to win a Longines Global Champions Tour Grand Prix in Paris in July with Romanov. Allen’s personal highlight was his role in helping the Irish senior show jumping team to win the Aga Khan Nations Cup on home soil at the Failte Ireland Dublin Horse Show in August.

The GAIN Horse Feeds/The Irish Field Star of the Month awards were also presented on the day with Team GAIN Dressage rider Judy Reynolds taking two monthly awards before being names The Irish Field Dressage Rider of the Year for the second consecutive year. Reynolds enjoyed an outstanding year in 2015, setting new Irish records on the world stage and putting herself in real contention for a place in the individual dressage competition at the Rio Olympics with her parents Joe and Kathleen’s gelding Vancouver K.

Voted for by readers of The Irish Field, the monthly winners were:

January: Shane Sweetnam, Cork international show jumper

February: Judy Reynolds, Kildare international dressage rider

March: Capt. Michael Kelly, Longford international show jumper

April: Robbie Clancy, Clare junior show jumper

May: Michael Ryan, Cork international event rider

June: Judy Reynolds, Kildare international dressage rider

July: David Blake, Clare international show jumper

August: Jennifer Kuehnle, Laois junior show jumper

September: Denis Lynch, Tipperary international show jumper

October: Cathal Daniels, Galway international event rider

November: Conor Swail: Co Down international show jumper

December: Bertam Allen: Wexford international show jumper